You are here: Home Leander Trophy Leander 2005 - Worser Bay, Wellington

Leander 2005 - Worser Bay, Wellington

Alex Vallings and Lyn Holland in Nuplex win a closely fought 55th Leander Trophy contest.

This years contest was held at the Worser Bay Boating club for the first time since 1997. The events were scheduled from 10th-13th March, but the Wellington weather being what it is racing was only held on 2 days. Thursday was breezy, even for Wellington, with 100km/h forecast. Sunday was the complete opposite with a glassy calm for most of the morning rising to under 5kts.

Nuplex - Alex Vallings and Lyn Holland
Vallings and Holland showing the way on Day 2.

Racing was close with the whole fleet finishing within 3 minutes in race 1 and good battles throughout the fleet. All the boats featured experienced crews and the conditions suited the lighter weather specialists. Vallings and Holland's boatspeed in the light was impressive and they finished in the top 3 in every race. Lyn was a popular winner being the first woman to win the title in the Leander's 55 years.

Trophy List

Leander 2005 Race Start
Race Start

R585 Subwoofer - Paul Roe and Ashton Smith hunt down R587 Dimension Polyant - Simon Ganley and Martin Oliver
Subwoofer and Dimension Polyant battling

Photos John Hardie

Leander 2005 Results