You are here: Home Leander Trophy Leander 2001 - ASC, Oraki Bay, Auckland

Leander Trophy 2001 - ASC, Oraki, Auckland

This years R Class Skiff National Championships was held over Easter 2001 (13th-16th April) at the Auckland Sailing Club.

Auckland's Alex Vallings and Andy Meiklejohn (Smit Millar) won for the second time in three years and had the contest tied up after Race 7. The close battle for second place was won by last years champions Sean Milner and Steve Macintosh (Chemical Weapon) over four time winners Design Source (Paul Macintosh and Kenny Fyfe).

Meridian Energy's (CAN) Tim Allan and Dave Pairman were a creditable fourth having sailed consistently throughout the contest.

See the Entries,Final Results and Pictures as well as the daily reports (days 1, 2, 3 and 4).

Alex Vallings and Andy Meiklejohn - 2001 Leander Trophy Champions
Leander 2001 Champions - Andy Meiklejohn and Alex Vallings

R583 Smit Millar in light airs, sailed by Alex Vallings and Andy Meiklejohn
Vallings and Meiklejohn sailing Smit Millar to victory with Alex's rotating carbon wingmast. The rig was trialled at last years contest and then lightened and modified for the 2001 Leander