You are here: Home Leander Trophy Leander 2002 - Pt Jerningham, Wellington

Leander Trophy 2002 - RPNYC, Pt Jerningham, Wellington 21-24 January

Dave Pairman and Tim Allan sailing Meridian Energy in the 2002 Leander Trophy

Steve Macintosh and Kenny Fyfe won the 2002 Leander trophy held at Pt Jerningham (Wellington) in fine style. Winning the Invitation race and 3 of the 6 races. MacIntosh having won seven times previously as crew teamed up with five times winner Fyfe for the contest. Last years winner Smit Millar (Alex Vallings and Andrew Meikeljohn) were second with Meridian Energy (Dave Pairman and Tim Allan) third. The Pinkney (Teams) Trophy was won by Canterbury for the first time since 1995.

The Leander Trophy was held in conjunction with the 12 ft skiff Interdominions. Both contests were run from the Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club (RPNYC), with racing held off Pt Jerningham.

Final Results and Entries.

Day 1, Day 2, Day 3 Day 4 and Day 5 - Steve Fortune (Liquid - R593) reports from the bottom of the bottle.

Photo credit - Chris Coad Photography.